Thursday, April 12, 2012

review: Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson
April 17, 2012
Amy Einhorn/Putnam 
Adult | Memoir/Non-Fiction
Standalone
Pages: 338
Source/Format: NetGalley/eGalley (won via Shelf Awareness) 
Rating: 
Author's Website | Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound


For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris-Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father (a professional taxidermist who created dead-animal hand puppets) and a childhood of wearing winter shoes made out of used bread sacks. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it.
Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter are the perfect comedic foils to her absurdities, and help her to uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments-the ones we want to pretend never happened-are the very same moments that make us the people we are today.
Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir is a poignantly disturbing, yet darkly hysterical tome for every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud. Like laughing at a funeral, this book is both irreverent and impossible to hold back once you get started.


IN A SENTENCE:


Get ready to piss yourself laughing so hard! In true The Bloggess fashion, Let's Pretend This Never Happened has its hilarious moment and sad moments, and even hilarious moments during the sad moments; I recommend this book to those people who are hesitant on reading a memoir, but love Jenny's blog, and those who love memoirs, especially hilarious ones, but aren't familiar with Jenny's blog (where the hell have you been? Under a rock?).


REVIEW:

If you’ve read The Bloggess’ blog, then you know how hilarious she is. And how unbelievable her stories are. You should try reading her memoir. OH. MY. LANTA. I’m wanting to go around saying “I can’t make this shit up” and “y’all.” YOU GUYS. I don’t even SAY “y’all!” Jenny Lawson’s memoir, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, is hilarious to the point of tears and peeing your pants—but no worries. When you aren’t laughing, you’re probably crying (real sad tears) but of course something happens and Jenny makes you laugh through your tears.

One of my favorite chapters is “And That’s Why Neil Patrick Harris Would Be the Most Successful Mass Murderer Ever” and despite the chapter sounding like it’s about somebody trying to kill Jenny, it’s about how she and her husband Victor met. You KNOW how much of a romantic I am, so when I realized who she was talking about, I went “awwww.” Their first few years together were ADORABLE. Especially how Victor proposed to her, and how she thought he was going to kill her. (True story.)

I’m one of those people who, after reading one of Jenny’s blog posts, I think, “Is this for real?” I had the same thoughts while reading Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. I now understand why it’s called that—and why (A Mostly True Memoir) is tacked on. Jenny’s hilarious recounting of her life and her exaggerations make up for the pain in your abdomen from laughing too hard. I don’t want to say a whole lot about this book because I want my readers to experience it the way I did: untainted. I didn’t know what I was behind the mouse cover, aside from a few blog posts that snuck their way into the story. (Digging the dog up is one of those blog posts—it made me cry into my breakfast. No joke.) If you love non-fiction, or even just a The Bloggess fan, I highly recommend picking up Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) and sitting back and enjoying. Just remember to change your underwear after laughing too hard. :p

6 comments:

  1. I can not wait to read this!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have my copy coming next week as soon as it's released to those of us not privileged to advanced copies ;-) I'm so looking forward to it, even more now!

    ReplyDelete
  3. YES!!!! I adore The Bloggess and I'm so excited to get my hands on this book! I read one of her excerpts about when she worked in HR and had to keep asking men to identify their penises because they'd emailed them at work. So amazing. I can't wait for the proposal story!

    ReplyDelete
  4. @fakesteph, hope you enjoy it!

    @loralie, I was lucky, not privileged to get an ARC of LET'S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED. I get few YA and even fewer MG ARCs, and never adult ARCs. I won because I entered for a copy in Shelf Awareness. I didn't email the publicist asking for one.

    @Jenny, I LOVED that part! which seems a bit weird, yeah, but STILL SO FUNNY. The entire section of when she works at HR is hilarious. enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm not really a non-fic fan but this does sound pretty funny. On my way to check out the bloggess now ;)

    The Cait Files

    ReplyDelete
  6. @Cait, I *heart* non fiction and memoirs! and I can't believe you haven't heard of THE BLOGGESS. srsly, you'll be rolling on the ground laughing after you visit her blog. Swears.

    ReplyDelete

Thank YOU for leaving a comment. They make my day, not gonna lie. <3 I do comment back, so go ahead and leave a link to your blog. I also reply directly in the comments, so if you want to, be sure to check back!